Second Week in Bali

Statue is saw from the side of the road. Possibly used for their Nyepi festival, after which it's burned.

Statue I  saw from the side of the road. Possibly used for their Nyepi festival, after which it’s burned.

Wow! Happy fourth of July everyone! I just realized what day it was while we were out on the bike today. While no one here is  going to celebrate the Fourth like we do in the states, we did go out for beer and BBQ tonight. That’s gotta count for something, right? I can hardly believe another week has gone by. As Marc would say, “it’s flown by.” No pun intended. *Laughs. I have so much to share with you so let me get started.

Rainstorms in the current supposedly dry season have continued to be an obstacle. After being cooped up for most of one day,  we bit the bullet and bought rain ponchos for the bike. We were hoping to invoke Murphy’s Law but so far it hasn’t worked. It was only after I’d used mine for a little bit that we realized it was probably made for a child. Marc had a little fun with me before he fixed it. You should have heard all the people at McDonald’s laugh at me when I put it on backwards the first time. I was laughing too though so it’s all good.

While I would stay really dry this way, I do have a problem with not being able to see.

While I would stay really dry this way, I do have a problem with not being able to see.

The sun finally did show it’s face and we took the opportunity to look around for a nice place to stay as a treat. We accomplished our mission and also came across this awesome private villa/compound owned by an Italian architect. He wasn’t there  the day we stopped by so one of his staff gave us a bit of a private tour. What an amazing place!

Local gas station

Local gas station

PlenilunioPool

Butterfly

Marc’s friend Chris, a  fellow para-glider from New Zealand got here the middle of last week. We first got word thru an email that he had arrived and Marc went down to Kuta to pick him up and help him find a place to stay closer to the launch site. Unfortunately, the locals still like to play a game called “misdirect the bule” and after two hours of fruitless searching he chucked it in. Marc sent him and email with our location and he showed up at our place  two days later. We’ve enjoyed showing him around and getting him sorted and educated on local culture, customs and mindset. He’s a right nice guy and he’s starting to clue in.

Marc and Chris clown around

Marc and Chris clown around

A couple of times now, I’ve been on my own while the guys have taken off for the launch site. I’ve browsed shops, found a closer supermarket and internet cafe, gotten a mani/ pedi and had a tortuously great Balinese massage.

birds1

birds2

All the pretty birds in Bali are in cages

All the pretty birds of Bali are in cages

Mona the massage therapist. She is really good.

Mona the massage therapist. She is really good.

Lest anyone think all I do is live the life of Riley though, let me show y’all one essential task that I perform regularly here in Bali. I do the laundry. Yes, I know that doesn’t sound like all that big a deal to all you folks with washers and dryers but in this country, I AM the washing machine. Sure, there are laundry shops all over the place here but with valid concerns on our part over the potential loss of our stuff and the hassle that would be involved in locating new duds, it’s just not worth the risk.

Step 1: Pour soap powder into plastic bowl and add your water

Step 1: Pour soap powder into plastic bowl and add your water

Step 2: Aggitate by hand. I like to use the baby kitten method and listen to Prince or other fast music while I do this.

Step 2: Agitate by hand. I like to use the baby kitten method and listen to Prince or other fast music while I do this.

Step 3: Rinse under running water and then wring dry

Step 3: Rinse under running water and then wring dry

To finish off our second week we went to the pool at Mahagiri for a swim, cocktails and dinner. They have a lovely little infinity pool and a bar staffed with some nice young men whose English rocks. We had fun drinking cocktails with such exotic names as Blue Motorcycle, After Sex, and Hawaii Five-O. Dinner was lovely as well and Marc said his Australian tenderloin with mashed potatoes, french fries, veggies and peppercorn gravy  was fabulous. Just a little odd to get two kinds of potatoes though.

Kanna & Budi will treat you right!

Kanna & Budi will treat you right!

The author takes a break

The author takes a break

Well… what can I say? It’s hot and I am going to wander back home and finish washing Marc’s shorts while I wait for him to get back from the launch site. He’s going to take me for another scooter driving lesson later and I’ll tell you all about that next time. Meanwhile, I’ll show you one picture from a coming attraction. Looks nice, eh?

comingattraction

2 thoughts on “Second Week in Bali

  1. Lil says:

    Interesting… and funny, too! Love you guys

  2. blade3colorado says:

    Your “gas station” photo reminded me of the . . . umm, fill up stations in Pai, Thailand. They weren’t as “hands on” as your photo illustrates, but nonetheless, they didn’t remind me of any suburban gas station in the United States either. More like a “post” where you fill up your tires with air. Obviously, the vehicle of choice is a scooter or small motorcycle. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

