Best of NZ: Birds

The Bird that started it all. The Pukekoe. No wings, but  smart and very protective of their young.

The Bird that started it all. The Pukekoe. No wings, but smart and very protective of their young.

I believe in one of my very first posts here in New Zealand, I had a picture of a bird called a Pukoke. I was waxing enthusiastic about the bird population here and made a statement that I would try to take a picture of each type of bird I found and get as many as I could. In the end, those suckers usually don’t sit still for pictures, so we saw a lot more than are represented here. Still, it was fun and I hope you’ll enjoy seeing some different birds.

Austrailian Magpie, they have a reputation as pests and people shoot them at will.

Austrailian Magpie, they have a reputation as pests and people shoot them at will.

Paradise Ducks. Always seen in pairs, the female has the white head.

Paradise  Shell Ducks. Always seen in pairs, the female has the white head.

BeachBirds.e

Pied Oystercatcher

Fishers

Pied Shag

Black Swans with goslings

Black Swans with goslings

Black Swans with Spoonbill

Black Swans with Spoonbill

Little Blue Penguins

Little Blue Penguins

Some chickens drink pretty well

Some chickens drink pretty well

New Zealand Robin

New Zealand Robin

Fantail

Fantail

Another view of the Fantail showing off.

Another view of the Fantail showing off.

Heron?

White Faced Heron

Kaka

Kaka

Kea's

Keas

Kingfisher

Kingfisher

Yellow Eyed Penguin

Yellow Eyed Penguin

New Zealand Hawk. Usually seen when 2 other things are happening at the same time.

New Zealand Hawk. Usually seen when 2 other things are happening at the same time.

NZ Hawk

NZ Falcon. Half Grown.

Quails

Quails

Red Footed Gulls

Red Billed Gulls

Rest Stop Roosters

Rest Stop Roosters. They didn’t care for breadcrumbs.

They were in the Auckland Zoo so they count, although I don't think they're native.

They were in the Auckland Zoo so they count, although I don’t think they’re native.

Spoonbill

Spoonbill

Tui

Tui

Wild Turkeys

Wild Turkeys

Stuffed Wood Pigeon

Kereru or  Wood Pigeon. This one is stuffed.

Mutton Bird. Pretty salty. Prepared by boiling a couple times to leach out salt before doing anything else.

Mutton Bird. Pretty salty. Prepared by boiling a couple times to leach out salt before doing anything else.

Satan & Snowball. Two very personable rest stop roosters.

Satan & Snowball. Two very personable rest stop roosters.

Weka. One of New Zealands largest flightless birds. About like a young chicken.

Weka. One of New Zealands largest flightless birds. About like a young chicken.

OceanBirds

Pied Stilt

Oceania2

Grey Tailed Tattler…. I think.

Right, well…. thats it for new Zealand damnint. We’ve been back in the states about four days now and dealing with jet lag and reconnecting with friends and family. The trip really isn’t over till we get a place and I am re-employed but I will be activlly working towards that goal from now on. We had a wonderful time in New Zealand and it was hard to leave.We made many friends and saw some amazing scenery. We look forward to visiting again someday. As for the blog, I’m not sure what I’ll do with it yet. Something says keep it. We’ll see. In the meantime, I’ll keep taking pictures.

Marc and myself @ The White Lady

Marc and myself @ The White Lady. Weekend institution burger bus

 

One thought on “Best of NZ: Birds

  1. gpcox says:

    If I were you, I’d keep it. I’m sure you have wonderful things at home that deserve to be photographed.

Leave a Reply

